About APPA

Across the nation, approximately 2,000 public power utilities provide electricity to 49 million people. Public power serves 49 states — all except Hawaii — and the territories of American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Of the nation’s public power utilities, about 1,400 are members of the American Public Power Association.